top of page

Patrushka - the art of groove and flow

Where do you find inspiration?

Most of my inspiration comes from pop culture, music and daily life - but almost anything can spark my eye and then my brush. Sadly, lately it seems to be a number of Day Of The Dead portrait tributes, full of love for our recently departed superhumans - David Bowie and Prince.

What are you currently working?

I am currently working on a few series which I am very excited about, if only there were more hours in a day!

The Ladies of the Newbrow: Portraits of inspiring and strong females - musicians, artists, authors and friends - some famous, some not. Once We Were Here: This series contains landscapes, cityscapes and urban scenes, sometimes with a surreal juxtaposition. Often of abandoned places or forgotten things, void of human life.

The Geishas: Using the image of the geisha as the basis, many themes and portraits are explored within this series. These were inspired by the discovery of the real meaning of the word. It consists of two kanji, 芸 (gei) meaning “art” and 者 (sha) meaning “person” or “doer”. The most literal translation of geisha into English would be “artist,” “performing artist,” or “artisan.”

What do feel is the artist's purpose within society?

I believe art should move the viewer in some way or another, either by making them happy with a lovely image or outraged by an intense darkness. It's great when art can make people see things differently, when it can alter a person's perspective.

Creating art for me is a valuable form of therapy, I can get my head into a groove and just flow, almost like a meditation or a trance. I can get very cranky if I am kept away from the easel too long!

Featured Right:

Lady Patricia


bottom of page