top of page

in a world of pretend with Adrienne Ramey


We launch our latest series of Drive-by interviews with artist Adrienne Ramey - on exhibition now in our Still Life show featuring 39 artists from across the country.

Take a peek into her world.

Is there something you are currently working on, or are excited about starting? I am excited about getting into the professional world of art! I finally have the space and the time to do what I love best again. Being accepted into a couple of local shows and now having my work accepted into uBe’s gallery has given me the confidence to keep working hard and to set my goals even higher.

Do you have a day job? What is it? What does it mean to you? My day job is as a public high school art teacher. If you know any full time k-12 teachers, you know that this is also a night job and sometimes a weekend job. It has been and still is difficult to find time for my own work. I have started to find more time for myself and my art and I think it is great that I can be a role model as a professional artist to my students.

Describe a quality have you retained since childhood? The ability to pretend. Not just to play, laugh, or have fun, but to pretend. My art focuses on still life paintings with toys. Whenever I look at one of my compositions I see a character, a personality, a narrative, a conflict. These are not still lifes with toys; these are stories with protagonists. I simply direct and document the stories that I find.

What does creating art provide for you? Art provides an outlet where I can be proud of what I do and enjoy the process of creation without the restrictions of any outside persons. Sure, I seek approval or criticism but I ask for it after I have already made the majority of my creative decisions. All other jobs lack that pure satisfaction from conception to finish because I am having to fit some other person’s mold. With my art, I get to set my own rules.


bottom of page