top of page

the beauty of brevity with Pj Mills

Next up in uBe's Drive-by interviews, we take a peek into the world of Pj Mills.

What are you presently inspired by? Mundane objects that reflect our bigger picture.

Is there something you are currently working on, or are excited about starting? A couple of celestial figures, Libra and Pisces. Their lore is funny.

Other than your art practice what other work do you do? Beekeeping.

Do you have a day job? What is it? What does it mean to you? I install high end wall covering products for Miami’s .5%. Although, I am handsomely paid, I have nothing but contempt for my clients and myself during the process. What led you to art? I wasn't good at anything else and noting else really interested me.

Words to live by, a favorite quote or motto? I’d rather have a bottle in front of me than a frontal lobotomy. -Tom Waites

Have you had to make sacrifices in order to live your life as an artist? Yes. Doing anything but.

Do you encounter misconceptions about being an artist? No.

Do you have a background in something other than art? Not really.

When you are in need of inspiration are there particular things you read, listen to or look at to fuel your work? Any practices to get you in a creative mind frame? There is no place to go, I just have to relax.

What do you think is the function of art in society? Do art or artists have a responsibility to do anything in particular? That’s a trick question. Right?

In an imaginary world where your artwork could speak, what would it say? The sound of my tinnitus.

Who taught you the most about art? The more I find out about art, the less I understand.

Describe a quality have you retained since childhood? Insecurity.

Who do you strive to be for those around you? Most of the time, I am invisible to those around me.

What simple pleasure brings you the most joy? My dog.

What is your greatest strength? Swimming.

What about yourself challenges you the most? Staying true.

What does creating art provide for you? Something. Not sure what.

You can check out Pj's work on exhibit now thru Oct 29th in our Still Life exhibition featuring 39 works from across the country.


bottom of page