top of page

the same weird stuff I say


Welcome to this week's Drive-by Interview with artist Teresa Meier.

Other than your art practice what other work do you do?

I teach photography. I’ve been teaching at the Art Institute of Portland and I founded Light Box Laboratories, a photography program for underserved and at-risk teens. I will also be be teaching a photography workshop at the beautiful Sitka Center for Art and Ecology on the Oregon coast in September.

Do you have a background in something other than art?

I studied neuropsychology during my undergraduate and at one point interviewed to intern with the FBI’s violent crimes unit. I also studied the cello, but now I just play the Game of Thrones theme song on it.

What do you think is the function of art in society?

Art connects people, engages them, inspires them, heals them and introduces new ideas and perspectives. And artists are leaders providing the opportunity and space for all those things to happen.

In an imaginary world where your artwork could speak, what would it say?

Probably the same weird stuff I say.

Who taught you the most about art?

My college teachers. Carol Bibler was my first drawing instructor and she was the first one to ever encourage and discuss my artwork with me. She told me I could be an artist. Her words have given me a lot of comfort over the years and have gotten me through a lot of self-doubt.

Describe a quality have you retained since childhood?

My handwriting—it looks the same as when I was five. Though I used to write with both hands and now I mainly use my right, even though my handwriting actually looks better if I use my left.

What simple pleasure brings you the most joy?

Richard Parker. He’s adorable and he squeaks.

What does creating art provide for you?

Peace. Adventure. A Challenge. A positive way to engage with people and the world. A life that I love.

About work featured in Creatures-real and imagined on exhibition thru March:

The Belly $1500. Digital Photography Being born the youngest, particularly among seven children, affords you the distinct advantage of going unnoticed. You get to watch lives and stories unfold. Memories are repetitiously analyzed, as with the careful handling and examination of an old photograph.


bottom of page