top of page

imagination is the only weapon . . .


Welcome to this week's Drive-by Interview with Laura Castellanos.

What are you presently inspired by? I'm inspired by ancient architecture, mythology, dolls, nature, colors, fantastic creatures, legends,and odd magical things.

Is there something you are currently working on, or are excited about starting?

I'm currently working on a 3'x4' series, I just completed the first in this new group, the subject being a gryphon with mirrored eyes on a different planet!

Do you have a background in something other than art?

I have a background in toy design as well i have recently left the business to dedicate myself to art full-time!

Words to live by . . . a favorite quote or motto?

"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." Alice's adventures In wonderland

Do you encounter misconceptions about being an artist?

Yes! I think people think of art as more of a hobby!

When you are in need of inspiration are there particular things you read, listen to or look at to fuel your work?

I love listening to ancient stories and myths for inspiration as well as meditation, and looking at other art that inspires me.

What do you think is the function of art in society? I do think art is very important in shaping the opinions and ideas of society, we have to stay true to our imagination.

In an imaginary world where your artwork could speak, what would it say? My art would speak of new lands and magical beings.

Describe a quality have you retained since childhood? I have tried to keep the open mindedness I had since I was a child to keep my imagination the importance i believe it should have.

What is your greatest strength? Always trying to learn more about the mysteries of the world.

What about yourself challenges you the most? Staying in a plateau state, I hate it! I'm always trying to be a better version of myself.

What does creating art provide for you? Creating art makes me feel at home, if that makes sense, it's something i always come back to and never get enough of.

About work featured in Creatures-real and imagined on exhibition thru March:

Starseed $950. Acrylic


bottom of page