top of page

all the brilliant movements in nature

Welcome to this week's Drive-by Interview with artist Daria Lvovsky.

What are you presently inspired by?

Nature is what inspires me most and life itself. The endless variety of forms, shapes and colors bring me joy and wonderment. All the brilliant movements in nature and in humankind are fascinating. Everything is in motion, but our senses as humans are limited and cannot fathom all of its glory. And yet, every tiny element in nature and in life, creates harmony with every other element. All are equally important to the bigger whole. The realization that we too are a part of the bigger picture of universal harmony is the source of my inspiration.

Words to live by . . . a favorite quote or motto?

To summarize by a few words, I will quote my husband who always says: "Accept yourself, accept your neighbor, be brave and thus you open the gateway to happiness". I believe that the ability to accept enables us to love and love is the main power in the process of creation.

What do you think is the function of art in society? Do art or artists have a responsibility to do anything in particular? I believe that art chooses the artist and not the other way around. An artist is someone who was chosen by the art-force so that through him or her, this art will be expressed. Art may open new pathways in the minds of people who were inspired by it, in order to create greater harmony or innovation in different life fields. Have you had to make sacrifices in order to live your life as an artist? Life in general is never devoid of sacrifices, even if we don't perceive it that way. I feel that my being an artist does not involve more sacrifice than other vocations. On the contrary, living my life as an artist gives me focus and meaning for myself and enriches my life, thus making me a better person and therefore, a better mother, wife, daughter and friend.

About work featured in Creatures-real and imagined on exhibition thru March:

The Phoenix $800. Needle felting , Fiber art I start every project with meditation, trying to understand the character I'm working on. The Fenix is a symbol of my creativity. Its permanent resurrection reminds my permanent start with a new project. Because every project I start is a sort of my returning birth. It's like to come to the world again and again.


bottom of page