top of page

the wild sacredness of life


Meet Bernell Loeb, this week's featured artist in uBe Drive-by Interviews!

What are you presently inspired by? Three years ago, I sold my home in Chicago and headed West with my husband and our four cats. When I arrived in Marin County, I knew this was a place where I wanted to stay. I love the trees here, the intoxicating smell of the earth, the deer wandering down my street.

Is there something you are currently working on? I’ve just completed a large canvas that I call “The Wild Sacredness of Life.” Our society has a hierarchical view of the world that places “man” on top and everything else beneath. This world view makes the exploitation of the earth inevitable – 50% of the world’s wildlife has been killed in the last 45 years. Unless we change our relationship with the planet, we will not survive.

Do you have a background in something other than art? I studied filmmaking and worked in the film industry as a production assistant and editor. I’ve also restored historic homes, which is an artistic pursuit to me.

Words to live by . . . a favorite quote or motto? “Humankind has not woven the web of life. We are but one thread within it. Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves. All things are bound together. All things connect.” Chief Seattle, 1854

When you are in need of inspiration are there particular things you read, listen to or look at to fuel your work; any practices to get you in a creative mind frame? It helps my creative process to be in an “ecstatic,” deeply concentrated and peaceful state of mind when I’m working, so I always listen to music when I paint.

What do you think is the function of art in society? Do art or artists have a responsibility to do anything in particular? Making art is a sacred practice. For one thing, it’s very humbling – nothing I make ever turns out the way I expect. At the same time it requires a leap of faith, a willingness to take a chance on myself, an acceptance that I could fail and a stubborn belief that it will all work out in the end.

Describe a quality have you retained since childhood? Curiosity.

Featured Piece:

Red Cat 3

Oil on Board

Images arise from memories, dreams, reflections --a process that may start with a fragment or a feeling held internally for a year or more. The image evolves, an intuitive meandering, coalescing, clarifying. I wait until it feels right before I start the work.


bottom of page